Primary energy production

Posted on by

The below charts provide data for global primary energy production measured in million tonnes oil equivalents (MTOE) per year, type and region during the period 1996 to 2015.

Charts on this page:

Energy production – Year and region
Energy production – Year and type
Energy production 2015 – type and region

Energy production – year and region

Chart displaying global primary energy production by year and region iduring the period 1996 to 2015

Energy production – year and type

Chart displaying global primary energy production by year and type iduring the period 1996 to 2015

Energy production – region and type 2015

Chart displaying global primary energy production by type and region in 2015

T – Tonnes
MT – Million tonnes
MTOE – Million tonnes oil equivalent


The primary energy values (MTOE) used for nuclear electricity generation, hydroelectric generation and electricity from renewable sources, takes into account the efficiency of converting fossil fuels (Oil) into electricity.

The primary energy values (MTOE) have been derived by calculating the equivalent amount of fossil fuel required to generate the same volume of electricity in a thermal power station, assuming an average conversion efficiency of 38%.

This means that the electrical energy actually generated from nuclear, hydroelectric and renewable sources is only 38% of the chemical energy content of the corresponding oil equivalents (The actual energy content of 1 TOE is around 11,7 megawatt-hours)

One million tonnes of oil or oil equivalent produces about 4400 gigawatt-hours (=4.4 terawatt hours) of electricity in a modern power station.

Fuels used as inputs for conversion technologies (gas-to-liquids, coal-to-liquids, and coal to gas) are counted as production for the source fuel and the outputs are counted as consumption for the converted fuel.

Country groupings

North America:
US, Canada and Mexico.

South and Central America:
Caribbean (including Puerto Rico and US Virgin Islands), Central and South America.

Europe and Eurasia:
Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Georgia, Gibraltar, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Romania and Serbia.

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan.

Middle East:
Arabian Peninsula, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Syria.

Territories on the north coast of Africa from Egypt to Western Sahara.
Territories on the west coast of Africa from Mauritania to Angola, including Cape Verde, Chad.
Territories on the east coast of Africa from Sudan to Republic of South Africa. Also Botswana, Madagascar, Malawi, Namibia, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Asia Pacific:
Australia, Brunei, Cambodia, China, China Hong Kong SAR*, China Macau SAR*, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, New Zealand, North Korea, Philippines, Singapore, South Asia (Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka), South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam, Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Oceania.